top of page
  • Writer's pictureShanzé Shah

Nordic Countries

With that, 30 countries done and summer is over. This summer I travelled to the Netherlands, Costa Rica, Scottish Highlands, Iceland, Sweden and Norway.


I feel immensely grateful for all the opportunities I have had to see and live in so many parts of the world. It's not something I have or will ever take for granted. There is a lot more of the world to experience; so to be continued.


Iceland

In July I went to Iceland and whilst I do not have a whole lot to say about the food, except that I had one amazing fish dish and it is insanely expensive; it really is a country that is truley like no other.


The landscape is mystical, magical and completely unique. Of course it is the land of skyr, which is a food I cannot live without. Skyr is Icelandic yogurt which is extremely high in protein and completely fat free, I would describe it as a thicker and more subtle version of greek yogurt. I essentially eat it with everything and have done so for years.


This trip of course was less about the food and more about being in awe of what I saw. However below is one of the best seafood dishes I have ever had, the fish was Artic Char, a cold water fish native to the Alpine lake. It was special.

& just some stunning landscapes.



I could provide an endless mirage of pictures that don't look real, but keeping to the fact that this blog is about food, I will stop at that and just say, go to Iceland.


Stockholm,Sweden

As summer was approaching its end, I wanted to go somewhere new but nearby, so Scandinavia it was! Yes once again not the most budget friendly option but it only seemed right to continue in this direction after Iceland.


Sweden is famous for its pastries and love of Fika. Fika, is a swedish tradition of taking time out in the day, no matter what, and having a coffee with something sweet. It seems they do take it seriously, as there was no shortage of sweet things around. I indulged in the cardamon buns with joy because even though I do not have a sweet tooth, cardamon in deserts is something I adore. Shahi tukrey, which is a pakistani bread pudding, is another cardamon soaked desert I adore.



Stockholm is cool city and I am very much a fan. It is expansive and a mix of modern and historical architecture. I also very much appreciated the slick sense style everyone had going. Food wise, it has plenty of options, not cheap but plentiful. I was also lucky enough to try swedish meatballs, and those too, vegan! Meatballs for people is a funky restaurants with meatballs made from all types of meat and a completely vegan version too. I especially loved the pickled cucumbers.


Meatballs and some more Fika.


I also had a slightly odd mix of a flat white and tangy prawn toast under a beautiful chestnut tree, so I guess no complaints?

There is a lot of sweet things to try there, so if you have a sweet tooth go, you shall not be disappointed. Also just go for a very cool city break. Tak.


Oslo, Norway

With Oslo just being an hour flight away, it felt wrong not to visit having come all this way. Of course, I need to go back to Norway to explore its stunning landscapes but this trip was just for Oslo. There was lots of good coffee involved, as Norwegians are the second biggest coffee consumers in the world!

I did a coffee tasting at Tim Wendleboe, which is, what one might say, a Michelin star level competitor in the coffee world.

Coffee Tasting Round 1 with my own croissant as they don't have food, but allow you to bring your own.

Coffee Tasting Round 2


Also more good coffee at Fuglen, another acclaimed roasters.

Ah, I just needed some spicy food after a few days, so I succumbed and found a Thai restaurant and actually it was very good, and very satisfying.

A short trip, mostly full of trying to do and see as much as possible in my time there. Hence not so food focused, but none the less some great eats enjoyed, and some wondrous sights seen.


 

Shanzé

77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hawaii

bottom of page