top of page
  • Writer's pictureShanzé Shah

Banana Bread & Blab

Updated: Oct 14, 2020


I have been cooking, but not so much really. I haven’t been trying funky new recipes, but every week at least once a week I get the chance to cook something small, whether that is a weird breakfast recipe, my lunch for the upcoming week or a small bake.

Considering that I didn’t really want breakfast today, I wasn’t satisfied that on a Sunday morning I was going to cook nothing, so I baked, I baked a one banana, banana bread.

It turned out better than I expected. As always, looked up some stuff online in regards to the lone banana. Some American websites told me to add 1 cup of sugar to a banana bread made from one banana, I very promptly ignored that and pieced together my own recipe.

Banana Bread

Ingredients

1 Banana

1 1/2 Cup Flour

½ Cup Butter*

1 tsp Cinammon

1 tsp Baking Soda

2 tbsp of Shredded Coconut.

Pinch of Salt

1 cup of Milk

1 egg

Handful Cacao Nibs

4 Chunks of Dark Chocolate

4 Chocolate Coated Almonds

Handful of Almonds

¼ Cup Honey

Method

  • Set the oven to 180C.

  • As with any baking recipe, wet first.

  • Whisk the butter so its smooth then add milk, mushed up banana, egg, honey and whisk again until a it’s a sloppy but put together paste.

  • Add all the other dry ingredients and now don’t whisk but mix together with a wooden spoon until it’s the consistency of a batter.

  • Now fold in the almonds.

  • If it seems too thick just add a little more milk, it won’t do any harm.

  • Line or butter a baking tray and pour in the mixture.

  • Press the chocolate chunks at equal distance into the mixture, and place the coated almonds on top of where you pressed in the chocolate.

  • Sprinkle the cacao nibs on top

  • Bake for around 40 minutes at 180.

  • Take it out, let it sit for 10 minutes and eat

*Normally I make banana bread with Skyr/Greek Yogurt (didn't have any) hence the butter, the recipe is slightly altered if the former are used. I would recommend trying banana with yogurt its fantastically moist and tangy.

Blab

We’re lucky that we have the liberty to cook, to have access to so many damn ingredients, to try new things. I try to be grateful for that, grateful that I get to eat so well and with so much choice, all the time. Don't just eat out, thats dull, make something.

Take some time and cook or write or make. I think creating something from start to finish is important, it makes us realise we can do more than just the tasks we have been assigned or those we assign ourselves.

So whether that is making your morning porridge from scratch (not instant oats) or a step by step curry, make it.

Here’s a picture of a very Pakistani dinner (that I did not make) but gratefully enjoyed. Its an Okra and Mutton curry, Beetroot and Onion salad and Roti.

In case you wanted to know normally that would just be onions. I love onions ALOT.

 

Ciao Ciao

Shanzé


78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page