top of page
  • Writer's pictureShanzé Shah

Savoury Porridge

Updated: Oct 14, 2020


I haven’t written in a very long time and that is all I can say. It does suck that I don’t write as much as I would like to but you have to prioritise and unfortunately real life requires me to put work before blabbing about food.

Over the past few weekends I found myself conjuring up some not so traditional breakfasts. We all eat eggs and porridge and yogurt for breakfast but I came up with some recipes which put these together in a much more unconventional way.

As I prefer savoury over sweet ANY day, I thought that I should try cooking more savoury porridge dishes. Now these aren’t just simple old porridge with salt (which is also great) but an amalgamation of my favourite savoury flavours into a porridge.

The main difference in savoury and sweet porridge is that instead of cooking in milk, you cook the porridge in stock, that could be chicken or vegetable stock.

Savoury porridge is something that was quite common in the past, its just these days we have become accustomed to seeing pictures of porridge slathered in syrup and pretty colours. I don’t think there is anything wrong in that, but it just means that cooking the porridge is focused on less and more attention given to making it look pretty.

You may agree or disagree, hey ho doesn't really matter.

Miso and Sesame Oil Porridge

Ingredients

  • Miso

  • Chicken Stock Cube

  • Soy sauce

  • Sesame Oil

  • Coriander

  • Egg

  • Green Chillies

  • Chilli Flakes

Recipe

  • First toast the oats in a dry pan. My Nani use to do this and of course ANYTHING she did is something to follow (There will never be anyone who can cook like her, just never). It really does do magic, it gives the oats a yummy nutty flavour.

  • Once they start to go brown, add the stock with the miso paste dissolved in it ( if using a stock cube, dissolve the stock cube in hot water first). As the stock comes to the boil add soy sauce and a tiny bit of fish sauce.

  • Lower the heat and let this cook for about 10 minutes.

  • In a separate pan poach an egg (no need to add anything in the water, just boil the water, make a swirl, drop in the egg and leave for about 1-2 minutes and then fish the egg out).

  • Take the porridge out into a plate and drizzle with sesame oil.

  • Cut some small green chillies and coriander, sprinkle some chilli flakes with the egg placed on top.

The recipe is basic. This one influenced with more East Asian flavours. The one below is with more South Asian flavours so it really is something you can play around with, if that is your idea of fun because it is mine. So so sososososo much fun.

Green Chutney, Crispy Onion & Garlic Porridge

Ingredients

  • Chicken Stock Cube

  • Green Chutney

  • Onions

  • Vegetable Oil

  • Green chillies

  • Garlic

Method

  • Same method as above but this time I topped it with some crispy fired onions & garlic and green chutney.

Green Chutney

  • This is a family recipe and its been eaten for breakfast in my family for a very very long time. Its amazing and as a kid you were only allowed a little, but you knew you had grown up when you were allowed to take a tea spoon full. (We make it with a lot of chillies so its pretty punchy).

  • Its essentially a blend of garlic, chillies and herbs. I think everyone can come up with their own unique recipe for this and essentially you could top the porridge with any chutney you like!

Conclusion

You can tell I have been writing essays because I couldn’t fight the urge not to write a conclusion. Well in summary don’t be boring with your porridge, don’t just eat it sweet. Of course do eat it sweet when you want but try being wackier with it, put flavours you eat in your everyday food in it! Try being wackier with what you eat in general, try different dishes, flavours, test your palate - your tongue is bored of tasting the same thing all the time.

And that is all. Its December and so its my birthday month and yes Christmas. In case anyone wondered, my birthday is on Christmas and I love mince pies ALOT.

 

Shanzé

Here is a great breakfast I didn't make, but can be found in Cafe 338, Bethnal Green. No stupid brunch prices just good food.

Ciao x


69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page