top of page
  • Writer's pictureShanzé Shah

Oat Pancakes with blueberries & grapefruit!

Updated: Oct 14, 2020


Its reading week hence I have had time to cook up some interesting breakfasts and try new things. Not that I eat non- interesting things normally (i.e. cereal: I am sorry, I really don’t like cereal).

Its Pancake Day today, so seemed very apt for me to try some. Normally not a huge fan of pancakes but I gave in to the novelty. I made this recipe up after having a look at some similar ones online, so I’d suggest you do the same and tweak things as you please!

 

Ingredients

Pancakes

1 Banana

1 Cup of Oats

1 Cup of Milk

½ Tsp baking soda

2 Tbsp. Honey

1 Tsp. Cinnamon

1 Tsp. cocoa powder

1 Cup Skyr (or Greek Yogurt)

Blueberries

Topping

Skyr (or Greek Yogurt)

Chopped Walnuts & Pistachio’s

½ a Grapefruit

Cacao Nibs

Blueberries

Method

Mixture

  1. Mix together all the ingredients except the cocoa powder & the blueberries

  2. Then spoon out just less than half of the mixture into a separate bowl and add the cocoa powder. I did this just so I could get two different flavours. You can omit this totally, or make the whole thing chocolate!

  3. Adjust the consistency of the mixture by adding more milk if needed. I just did this by eye, you don’t want it too runny but it should be ‘gloopy’, if that makes sense.

Cooking

  1. First warm the pan completely on high heat and add a little butter. Now lower the heat to a complete minimum.

  2. Laddle the batter into the pan, after around ½ minutes add some blueberries on it.

  3. Then see if the pancake is ready to flip, this was a hit & miss for me. I mushed one pancake up completely doing this but got it right by the end. What works well is if you try moving the pan around and if the pancake moves then its ready to flip

  4. Flip the pancake and cook on the other side for a few minutes, then plate.

Topping

  1. I stacked the pancakes on top of each other, nothing inventive here.

  2. In order to make sure my pancakes were moist, I soaked them in grapefruit juice.

  3. To do this, put the half cut grapefruit into the microwave for one minute, this makes it soft and easy to squeeze. Then squeeze the juice onto the pancakes.

  4. Then scoop out the pulp and put on top of the pancakes.

  5. For toppings I just dolloped the skyr around, sprinkled the nuts and cacao nibs and drizzled it with honey

& that’s it!

They weren’t too sweet because of the skyr and grapefruit they were kinda tangy, which I personally love, because I’d throw up if it was too sweet.Also they are quite a healthy stack & if you substitute the milk for nut milk, then vegan too! (but I am not vegan and never could be)

Most of the stuff I post on here is an easyish recipe. I find it hard to document cooking a dish with a billion spices and ingredients because I cook as I go along with just a general outline in my head. But I shall try to do some more tricky recipes more often!

As always, it makes me very very happy to write on here and to talk about food! Happy Pancake Day.

 

Shanzé


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page