top of page
  • Writer's pictureShanzé Shah

Noodles & Aubergines

Updated: Oct 14, 2020


My week was an accumulation of library rendezvous, seminars and work. Reading about that would be dire but I also ate some great food, so I'll elaborate on the latter.

Rasa Sayang

(http://rasasayangfood.com/)

I had been wanting to go to this place for quite a while. Its one of the few Halal places in China town which is always a plus however I just ordered seafood because I’d pick anything out of the sea every time over chicken and meat. The place itself is pretty small and has a canteen vibe which I personally really like, its not stuck up and has an easy going vibe with lots of chatter.

Nasi Lemak (Malaysia’s National dish)

It’s coconut rice,boiled eggs, sambal, chicken&potato curry, some crispy fried anchovies, peanuts and pickle. While the dish overall was really good, we’d have preferred it to be a little bit spicier and slightly less sweet.

Curry Laksa

Egg noodles in a spicy coconut based broth with all kinds of seafood including squid, prawns and scallop with a tonne of vegetables and sambal. I love noodles in all shape and forms and this was great, it was pretty spicy and the bowl was massive. I was very very happy.

The side of chicken wontons was pretty good too.

All in all a really good place where the flavours are abundant, the food fresh and the portions plentiful! Also the Sambal was ace.

2) Baked Aubergines

I generally really like aubergines but I figured a new way of making them recently. I realise they aren't the most photogenic of food, but who cares.

Cut a whole aubergine in half, sprinkle with some seasoning, olive/sesame oil and put whole cloves of garlic on top and then in the oven for around 30 minutes at 180'C.

Once they are all done, smash the garlic cloves into the cooked aubergines and pair with whatever else!

Version 1

Here I just had it with some crisped up pita, yogurt dip, brussel sprouts and sweet potato.

Version 2

This one I had with rye crisps smothered in red pepper hummus and green beans*. Oh & I put leftover Jalfrezi sauce on my baked aubergines which was GREAT.

( *yes capers on green beans actually work!!)

 

Another mish mash of a post but I like writing about food and I hope its not all that bad to read. Have a good week! Ciao ciao

- Shanzé-


102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page