top of page
  • Writer's pictureShanzé Shah

Breakfast?


Breakfast is vital.

 

My day to day activities/ the weather decides what my breakfast will be. During university it would be simple: a piece of fruit, wholegrain toast and an egg. Halfway during last year I stopped having caffeine for breakfast so now rarely have black tea/coffee for breakfast, except for those days where you can't do without it, but when I do get the time I’ll have green tea.

During exam season when time was tight I would prepare my breakfast in advance. That’s when I got really addicted to overnight oats. I’d prepare a different flavoured batch each week and top it off with granola in the morning for a fast and extremely filling breakfast.

The rest of the summer I ate a variety of breakfasts. Everything from eggs on toast, oats to more traditional Pakistani breakfasts which includes light potato curries with crisp flat breads (they deserve their own posts!!).

Then during my time away, we had free breakfast in our hotel in Frankfurt. I mean I think I will just post a picture below of what the breakfast consisted of. It was amazing and I was very lucky to have that spread everyday. As it was the only free meal of the day, lets just say we all made sure we had a healthy serving... Scroll to end of blog to see a glimpse of it..

So to now. As I have a bit more time in the mornings right now, like to have something that will fill up me for the rest of the day. Recently I’ve really been enjoying my take on breakfast bowls. There isn’t quite a recipe to them, more so what I see in the kitchen that morning.

I always have:

Greek Yogurt / Skyr (Icelandic Yogurt – I actually prefer this to Greek now!)

Museli (I’ve been using a coconut flavoured)

Chia Seeds

Honey

Below are those things which I alternate

Banana

Another fruit (Grapefruit, nectarines, pineapple, plum, melon, berries)

Goji Berries

Sultanas

Pistachios / any nuts

So I just put all the different components in the bowl and top it off with chia seeds and honey.

On the side I recently discovered Irish Wheaten Bread, and good lord it is amazing. It’s the densest wholemeal bread I’ve had. Its full of seeds and is slightly tangy like sourdough. Any other wholemeal bread is great too; I really like seeded wholemeal bread (as you can see I despise bland airy toast: sandwiches are my enemies).

Toppings for the Bread:

Hummus

Paprika

Herbs

Cherry Tomatoes

Dicon Radishes

 

& there it is. It seems very fancy when put together but its nothing more than putting things on a plate. It’s super filling as there’s fruit, yogurt, oats and all the carbohydrates from the bread. I have time right now to chop things up and assemble it and so I am enjoying this while I can before I have to start again on speedy breakfasts again. Speedy or lazy, i love breakfast.

I think for my next post I am going to back to another travel one. We'll see I am still figuring out this space.

- Shanzé-


53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page