top of page
  • Writer's pictureShanzé Shah

Japanese & Korean Food - Berlin

Updated: Oct 14, 2020


I have been to Berlin before and I love the city. I love the diversity, the non-chalant behaviour everyone has towards each. Everyone is relaxed and has enough space to be so. The city has an immense amount of food to try, most of it pretty cheap and quite good.

I wish I had thought about this blog before I went there and so was able to capture more of its food to share.

We’ve all heard of Burgermeister in cool Kreuzberg but if you’re into noodles like me (if you have the patience to continue following me on here, you’ll realise I have a addiction to them), then the place below definitely should be visited!!

 

Cocolo Ramen - https://kuchi.de/restaurant/cocolo-ramen/

I’d really been craving a good bowl of Ramen and so dragged everyone, most of them willing, to East Berlin to come to this restaurant & it was all worth it (even with the slight train ticket problem we had previously… always buy the right ticket everyone).

The menu was clean and simple, a small selection of broths and noodles to choose from. They also had gyoza of which we ordered a few.

I ordered a miso broth ramen with prawns.

My Ramen bowl came topped with spring onions, seaweed, bean sprouts, which was all generously topped by chilli oil, sesame seeds and kimchi, courtesy of me. There it was then, one of the best ramen bowls I’ve had. The noodles were long and chewy, and the broth had such a deep flavour.

Sometimes broths that aren’t meat based can lack a bit of depth and flavour, but not this one. Behind me I could see the chefs preparing the food and that made the experience even more exciting.

Honestly it is in my Top 5 ramens ever, and I have ramen at any chance possible.

I would say the average was around 10 euros per person including the ramen, gyoza to share and a drink.

Please go if you’re in East Berlin and even if you aren’t then make your way here. Its only a 5 minute walk from the canal nearby, which has a great market on the weekend. The rest of my money was spent there, buying up trinkets from all the different jewellery, art, decorative stalls there.

Ku Em Ja (https://www.facebook.com/Kuem-Ja-Korean-Fresh-Food-1600672556846545/)

I love Korean food but never have I ever found a halal Korean food. So I have only ever been able to try Seafood/Vegetarian options at Korean restaurants. But Berlin was the solution to this problem.

On Sunday we went to Mauerpark, it is the host to Berlin’s largest Flee market. It is huge and a treasure chest of clothes, crockery, jewellery and everything in between. So once we had all bought our fare share of 1euro clothes, rings and china teacups ( i like to collect tea cups from places I visit), it was time for the street food of Mauerpark.

This place has some of the most amazing street food in Berlin, last time I came I had turkish food and so this time I wanted to try something different. As we walked in we were offered a sample of some Korean Beef (which was halal!!). So I got talking to the people there and found out that they were one of the only Halal Korean place in Europe, pretty damn incredible!

All 4 of us were in love with the sample and so decided on this as our lunch.

We ordered:

1- Korean Pancake topped with spicy beef and the super spicy sauce

2- Another Korean Pancake with the mild sauce

3- Just the beef with sauce and a side salad

4- From the stall next door we got some fresh iced lemonade to compliment all the spicy beef.

Unsuccessful in our search for a spot under the shade, we just sat down in the middle of the park as none of us had any further patience.

The beef was super succulent and tender. There was flavour oozing out of each bite of the beef and the sauce was out of this world!

Whenever someone says to me that something is spicy, I am always slightly sceptical. But this delivered and my friends were glad I hadn’t got it slathered all over the two pancakes.

The pancakes were full of flavour, not so healthy as they are fried, but that really did not matter.

Korean Halal Beef in Berlin in Mauerpark has got to be one of my favourite sentences. The food was incredible, the people serving it were extremely hospitable and having it all in Berlin just made it slightly better.

Everytime I visit this city I find new places, each with its own story, and all come with depth. Untill next time Berlin.

 

-Shanzé-

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Israel

China

bottom of page